Dr. Anderson

Richard C. Anderson, MD

Specialty: General Surgery

About Dr. Anderson


Dr. Richard Anderson graduated Magna Cum Laude from Benedictine University in Lisle, Illinois with an undergraduate degree in Biochemistry. He received his doctorate in medicine from the Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine in Maywood, Illinois, and also completed his surgical internship there.

His residency in general surgery was completed at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at OSF Saint Francis Medical Center in Peoria. Dr. Anderson has also completed a Fellowship program in thoracic surgery at Washington University, Barnes Hospital, in St. Louis, Missouri.

Experience in Specialized Care

In addition to general surgery procedures, Dr. Anderson specializes in thoracic surgery including pulmonary resection and esophageal surgery as well as minimally invasive thoracic surgery. He is a Professor of Clinical Surgery and Chief, Section of Cardiothoracic Surgery at University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria (UICOMP).

Dr. Anderson is board certified with the American Board of Surgery and the American Board of Thoracic Surgery, and is a member of numerous surgical and thoracic societies and associations including the American College of Surgeons, the Society of Thoracic Surgeons and the American Cancer Society. He was president of the Peoria Medical Society from 2007-2008.


An Illinois native, Dr. Anderson was born in Yorkville. He currently lives in the Morton with his wife and six children.

  • Sub-Specialties
    Trauma and Critical Care
    Varicose and Spider Veins
  • Education
    MD and Surgical Internship — Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
    General Surgery Residency — University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria (UICOMP)
    Thoracic Surgery Fellowship — Washington University, Barnes Hospital
  • Academic Appointment
    Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery — UICOMP
    Chief, Section of Cardiothoracic Surgery — UICOMP
  • Honors
    Outstanding Service Award, UICOMP (2004-2005)
    Outstanding Teaching Award, UICOMP (2006-2007)
    Faculty Teaching Award, UICOMP (2005)
    Teacher of the Year Award, UICOMP (2002, 2007, 2008 co-recipient 2003, 2004, 2005)
    Faculty of the Year, UICOMP (2006-2007)
    Golden Apple Award, UICOMP (2003, 2008 and 2010)